Rantsgiving

Ok. I love being in a good mood. And thinking positively. And believing the best in other people. But sometimes? I just need to rant. Which I would like to think is refreshing in the midst of all the ooey-gooey thankfulness going on, right?

Let’s begin…

Short-term Mission Trips 
I just read a post about whether or not short-term mission trips are helpful. I don’t have an opinion about that. I have an opinion about this – Christians will go on said short-term mission trip and see how truly poor other people are. How they don’t have adequate food or medicine or education or whatever. More importantly, most people on these trips will note how happy these people are despite the lack of food, medicine or education. And then they come home “changed”. Except instead of being changed in a way that says “Wow, I really don’t need an iPhone (or whatever it is you use to feel important) to be worthy of love or acceptance. I can get rid of it and focus my time and resources on the things that I now know really matter”. No. Instead they say “Thank God I am able to have an iPhone”.
*Note: Not hating on iPhone users. Hating on consumerism.

Christ in Christmas
I’m going to get in trouble for this one…
Yes, I totally understand the reason for the season. And I’m glad you took the time to start a FB page to fight the good fight. However, is making sure people say Christmas instead of X-mas or Happy Holidays really what our Lord and Savior died for? Really?
Because I’m pretty sure Jesus is significantly more interested in finding homes for the 107,000 foster kids in the United States. Not in making sure our Christmas cards are correctly worded. But maybe that’s just me.

The Colts
This isn’t really a rant. Just sad feelings. No wins? At all? C’mon, guys.

Ok. Rant over…um…happy Thanksgiving?

One thought on “Rantsgiving

  1. Secret Agent "CT" says:

    I can’t wait for my thanksgiving card from you!!!! 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.